Historical milestones The history of Leybold Vacuum spans a period of 165 years, during which time innovative vacuum technology was continually put to use to make the applications of our customers possible.

  • 1850
  • 1900
  • 1950
  • 2000
  • 2015
  • 1850

    Foundation of Leybold, pioneering the development of vacuum technology

  • 1870

    Ernst Leybold retired and sold the company to Emil Schmidt and Otto Ladendorff, who ...

  • 1906

    The renamed company began its extremely successful collaboration with Prof. Dr. ...

  • 1911

    Development of the molecular air pump by Prof. Dr. Wolfgang Gaede

  • 1967

    Merger of E. Leybold´s Nachfolger and Heraeus Hochvakuum GmbH

    Until this date, Dr. Manfred Dunkel had been the head of the company for 36 years and helped it to become a company of world-wide renown also by expanding the range of products.

  • 1980

    The period of the 1980s was marked by turbulent growth

    By 1987 the company had sales of over a billion marks thanks to the good work of its about 5,600 employees worldwide.

  • 1987

    Effective 1 October 1987 Leybold Heraeus was renamed Leybold Aktiengesellschaft ...

  • 1994

    Cologne remained the location of the vacuum-pump technology divison, Hürth that of ...

    All divison became independent GmbHs (LTDs.)

  • 2006

    The Leybold trademark applies only to the vacuum-pump technology division, Leybold Vacuum

    As part of the Switzerland-based OC Oerlikon Management AG, the company is the world-wide leading supplier of vacuum technology and system solutions

  • 2007

    Introduction of the SCREWLINE dry pump

    The new dry compressing screw vacuum pump SCREWLINE enters the market.

  • 2008

    Oerlikon Leybold Vacuum enters the solar market

    Introduction of a series of products for photovoltaic applications,

  • 2009

    Enlargement of the roots pump product range

    Launch of the new roots vacuum pump RUVAC WH

  • 2010

    Introduction of the DRYVAC

    Important change in the fore vacuum market - the new dry compressing vacuum pump DRYVAC is launched.

  • 2011

    New magnetically levitated turbo molecular pumps

    New, flexible high vacuum pump MAGiNTEGRA for the coating and solar market.

  • 2012

    Enlargement of manufacturing site in Tianjin, China

    Oerlikon Leybold Vacuum enlarges the number of SOGEVAC variants produced in China.

  • 2014

    A giant leap in vacuum technology

    Oerlikon Leybold Vacuum launches the TURBOVACi, a hybrib high vacuum pump dedicated to the research&development market as well as for the analytical market.

  • 2015

    Shift of service competence to Dresden

    Oerlikon Leybold Vakuum shift the service activities from Cologne to Dresden.